Washington—Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) today issued the following statement on Governor Jerry Brown’s decision to sign right-to-die legislation into California law:
“My gratitude to Governor Brown for signing the End of Life Option Act into law today. He was absolutely correct to do so, and I’m grateful.
“This bill, which includes significant safeguards, will give terminally-ill patients the option to end intense pain and suffering. It will ensure they can pass away in their homes, with their families and loved ones by their sides.
“I’ve seen firsthand the agony that accompanies prolonged illness, for both patients and loved ones, and this bill provides a compassionate, kind option.”
Under the bill, a patient may request medication to end his or her life if:
- Two physicians determine that the patient has a terminal illness and six months or less to live.
- The patient is a legal resident of California.
- The patient voluntarily submits two oral requests at least 15 days apart, as well as a written request, to the attending physician. These requests must be witnessed by at least two other adults whom the patient trusts. The attending physician may not be a relative through blood or marriage.
- The patient signs a final attestation form 48 hours before taking the aid-in-dying drug.