Assault Weapons Ban endorsements

Endorsements for the
Assault Weapons Ban of 2013

Law Enforcement

  • International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators
  • International Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Major Cities Chiefs Association
  • National Association of Women Law Enforcement Executives
  • National Law Enforcement Partnership to Prevent Gun Violence
  • National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives
  • Police Executive Research Forum
  • Police Foundation
  • Women in Federal Law Enforcement
  • Chaska, Minn., Police Chief Scott Knight, former chairman of the Firearms Committee, International Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Los Angeles County Sheriff Lee Baca
  • Los Angeles Police Chief Charlie Beck
  • San Diego Police Chief Bill Lansdowne

Health care

Education and child welfare

Gun safety

  • Arizonans for Gun Safety
  • Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence
  • Ceasefire Oregon
  • Coalition to Stop Gun Violence
  • Hoosiers Concerned About Gun Violence
  • Illinois Council Against Handgun Violence
  • Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence
  • Mayors Against Illegal Guns
  • Ohio Coalition Against Gun Violence
  • One Million Moms for Gun Control
  • Protect Minnesota
  • Violence Policy Center
  • Washington CeaseFire
  • Wisconsin Anti-Violence Effort
  • Women Against Gun Violence


Other organizations


Former governors

  • Former California Governor George Deukmejian
  • Former Secretary of Homeland Secretary Tom Ridge

Current Senate cosponsors

  • Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.)
  • Senator Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.)
  • Senator Ben Cardin (D-Md.)
  • Senator Tom Carper (D-Del.)
  • Senator Mo Cowan (D-Mass.)
  • Senator Dick Durbin (D-Ill.)
  • Senator Al Franken (D-Minn.)
  • Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.)
  • Senator Tom Harkin (D-Iowa)
  • Senator Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii)
  • Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.)
  • Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-N.J.)
  • Senator Carl Levin (D-Mich.)
  • Senator Robert Menendez (D-N.J.)
  • Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.)
  • Senator Chris Murphy (D-Conn.)
  • Senator Patty Murray (D-Wash.)
  • Senator Jack Reed (D-R.I.)
  • Senator John Rockefeller (D-W.Va.)
  • Senator Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii)
  • Senator Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.)
  • Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.)
  • Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.)


  • The group Mayors Against Illegal Guns in early February sent a letter to House and Senate leaders calling for support of the Assault Weapons Ban of 2013. The letter was signed by 886 mayors from cities across the country.
  • The mayors of San Francisco, Los Angeles, Sacramento, San Jose, Long Beach, Oakland, San Diego and Santa Ana wrote a letter supporting the bill in January.

California cities

  • Beverly Hills
  • Calabasas
  • Del Mar
  • Encinitas
  • Lemon Grove
  • Los Angeles
  • National City
  • Petaluma
  • San Francisco
  • Santa Rosa
  • Stockton
  • Ventura
  • West Hollywood