Press Releases

WashingtonSenator Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) joined in signing a resoution led by Senators Barbara A. Mikulski (D-Md.) and Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), Co-Chairs of the Senate National Service Caucus, commemorating the 20th anniversary of AmeriCorps. Since 1994, the community service organization has provided more than one billion service hours in communities across America. The anniversary is Friday, September 12, 2014.

Senator Mikulski was one of the original founders of AmeriCorps. More recently, she led Senate efforts to expand and strengthen AmeriCorps and other national service programs through the Senator Edward M. Kennedy Serve America Act, signed into law in 2009.

The bipartisan Senate resolution recognizes the powerful and positive impact on families and communities that AmeriCorps members make each and every day across our nation. It ‘encourages all people of the United States to join in a national salute to AmeriCorps members and alumni for 20 years of service to the United States on September 12, 2014.’ It also ‘acknowledges the significant impact and value of AmeriCorps members, alumni and community partners over the past 20 years and encourages individuals of all ages to find ways to give back to their communities and the United States through AmeriCorps and other programs.’

AmeriCorps, which is administered by the Corporation for National and Community Service programs engage approximately 80,000 individuals each year in intensive, results-driven service at more than 15,000 locations across the country. In exchange for 1,700 hours of service, members earn a $5,730 Segal AmeriCorps Education Award to help pay for college or pay back student loans. Since 1994, more than 775,000 AmeriCorps members have given one billion service hours in their communities. Interested individuals can learn about available opportunity and apply online by visiting

In addition to Senators Mikulski and Cochran, the bipartisan resolution was introduced by Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Mark Begich (D-Alaska), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Robert Casey (D-Penn.), Christopher Coons (D-Del.), Richard Durbin (D-Ill.), Tom Harkin (D-Iowa), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Mary Landrieu (D-La.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Jay Rockefeller (D-W.V.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Jon Tester (D-Mont.) and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.).

The full text of the resolution can be viewed here.