Press Releases

June is LGBT Pride Month

Washington – Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) joined a group of Senate colleagues today to introduce the first-ever Senate Resolution recognizing June as LGBT Pride Month. The resolution notes major milestones in the fight for equal treatment of LGBT Americans and resolves to continue efforts to achieve full equality for LGBT individuals. Today, June 28, marks the 48th anniversary of the Stonewall riots.

Senators Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), and Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-Nev.) are also sponsoring the legislation.

Full text of the resolution is available here