Press Releases

Washington—Today, U.S. Senators Dianne Feinstein and Tim Kaine, a member of the Senate Foreign Relations & Armed Services Committees and co-author of the Iran Nuclear Agreement Review Act, released the following statement on the unanimous vote to extend the Iran Sanctions Act (ISA), a critical component of the U.S. sanctions architecture against Iran:

“We voted today to extend ISA because it is consistent with the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), which we strongly support. In line with the agreement, the president is currently waiving sanctions as Iranian compliance with the deal is tested over the next eight years. Until then, sanctions legislation must remain in place to allow an immediate ‘snap-back’ should Iran violate the JCPOA. This is not a new sanction, but signals the continued commitment of Congress to vigorously enforce Iran’s compliance with the JCPOA and to make clear that there will be immediate consequences should Iran break the terms of the agreement, including the re-imposition of sanctions.

“Today’s vote is in support of the agreement. All parties to the JCPOA contemplated that sanction statutes would remain in place until the IAEA reaches the conclusion that all nuclear material in Iran remains for peaceful purposes. At that time, Congress is to seek termination of statutory sanctions and Iran will permanently ratify the Additional Protocol. Today, the U.S. and Iran are honoring the agreement, and it would be a significant error for the U.S. to walk away from the agreement in the future.”