Press Releases

Washington – Last week, Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) joined Mazie K. Hirono (D-Hawaii) on a resolution recognizing the significance of Asian Pacific American (APA) Heritage Month and the contributions of the Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community.

“APA Heritage Month is an opportunity to recognize the cultures, the trailblazers, and stories of the Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander communities in Hawaii and across the country,” Senator Hirono said. “While we celebrate these contributions, there is still much work to be done to ensure opportunity and equality for AAPI communities, and we must continue fighting for these goals.”

The resolution also recognizes several significant milestones for the APPI community, such as the 25th anniversary of the establishment of the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus and the Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies; the 40th anniversary of the first Asian/Pacific American Heritage Week; the 45th anniversary of Lau v. Nichols, which expanded equal educational opportunities and paved the way for bilingual programs in public schools; and the 150th anniversary of the completion of the first Transcontinental railroad. The full text of the resolution is available here.

In addition to Senators Feinstein and Hirono, the 2019 Asian Pacific American Heritage Month resolution is also cosponsored by U.S. Senators Michael Bennet (D-Col.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Richard Durbin (D-Ill.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), and Tina Smith (D-Minn.).