Press Releases

Washington, DC – U.S. Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas) and a bipartisan coalition of 25 additional Senators today introduced legislation to extend the sale of the highly successful Breast Cancer Research Stamp for four additional years.  Without Congressional action, the stamp will expire on December 31.

Since 1998, over 903 million breast cancer research stamps have been sold – raising over $72 million for breast cancer research. 

“The breast cancer research stamp has been extraordinarily successful, raising more than $72 million for breast cancer research.  But no dollar amount can be placed on the value of public awareness the stamp has given this devastating disease and the hope it has given to breast cancer survivors,” Senator Feinstein said. “Thanks to breakthroughs in cancer research, more and more people are becoming cancer survivors rather than cancer victims.  Every dollar we continue to raise will help save lives.”

The National Institutes of Health and the Department of Defense have received approximately $50.4 million and $21.6 million, respectively, putting these research dollars to good use by funding innovative advances in breast cancer research. 

“For over a decade, the breast cancer research stamp has helped raise funds to support innovative research that helps save lives. Through voluntary contributions, it has led to treatments that have made breast cancer patients, breast cancer survivors. Given the support the stamp has received from the public, I am please to support its extension,” Sen. Hutchison said.  “This stamp not only raises money for breast cancer research, it also raises awareness of this horrible disease that affects so many American families.”

The renewal legislation would provide for the stamp to continue to have a surcharge above the value of a first-class stamp, with the surplus revenues going to breast cancer research.

Originally created in 1997, Congress has reauthorized the stamp four times. The original cosponsors for the bill were Senators Feinstein, Alfonse D’Amato (R-N.Y.), and Lauch Faircloth (R-N.C.) in the Senate, and Representatives Vic Fazio (D-Calif.) and Susan Molinari (R-N.Y.) in the House.

Click here to read more about the Breast Cancer Research Stamp.