Press Releases

Washington—Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.) and Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.) introduced a bipartisan resolution to encourage investment in education and training for American workers by designating September 2017 as “National Workforce Development Month.” The resolution supports federal initiatives to promote workforce development and recognizes the crucial role that they play in growing the economy.

“It’s vital that we recognize the importance of our workforce development system in supporting sustainable career pathways,” said Senator Feinstein. “This resolution reaffirms our support for a comprehensive approach to workforce development, encourages partnerships between industry leaders and educators and emphasizes the importance of all career pathways in pursuit of economic prosperity. I hope my colleagues will join me in supporting this resolution to encourage the continued growth of our workforce development system.”

Access to effective workforce education and training programs are critical to supporting workers and expanding access to living wage jobs. Federal programs and funding provide the foundation for these programs. The Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act supports high-quality career and technical education programs. Almost 12 million high school and college students benefited from these programs from 2015 to 2016.

Programs authorized under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 served nearly 7 million young people and adults in 2015. Nationwide, there are more than 550 workforce development boards and 2,500 American Job Centers that work with job seekers and employers across industries ranging from healthcare and information technology to manufacturing and construction.

The resolution is cosponsored by Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.) and Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.).

The resolution is supported by the National Skills Coalition, National Youth Employment Coalition, National Association of Workforce Development Professionals, Center for Law and Social Policy, AdvanceCTE, United States Workforce Association, Association of Farmworker Opportunity Programs, Young Invincibles, National Association of Counties, National Association of Development Organizations, American Association of Community Colleges, Coalition on Adult Basic Education, National  Council of State Directors of Adult Education, Corps Network, Goodwill Industries International, Inc., National Association of State Workforce Agencies, EasterSeals, Association for Career and Technical Education, Association of Community College Trustees, National Education Association, National Governors Association, Association of Educational Service Agencies, American Federation of Teachers and AASA, The School Superintendent Association.

Full text of the resolution is available here.