Press Releases

Washingtion – Senators Dianne Feinsteina (D-Calif.) and Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), joined by all of their female Senate colleagues, introduced a resolution to celebrate a historic milestone, the 100th anniversary of the passage and ratification of the 19th Amendment, providing for women’s suffrage, to the Constitution of the United States. The resolution seeks to honor, reaffirm, and preserve the ratification of the 19th Amendment in further promoting the core values of our democracy as promised by the Constitution.

Click here for full text of the resolution.

Resolution excerpts:

  • Whereas Congress passed the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, guided by the shared ideals of freedom, sovereignty, democracy, civil liberties, and individual rights.
  • Whereas the introduction, passage, and ultimate ratification of the 19th Amendment were the culmination of decades of work and struggle by advocates for the rights of women across the United States and worldwide.
  • Whereas the ratification of the 19th Amendment ensured women could more fully participate in our democracy and fundamentally changed the role of women in the civic life of our Nation.
  • Now, therefore, be it resolved that the Senate celebrates the reaffirms the desire of Congress to continue strengthening democratic participation and to inspire future generations to cherish and preserve the historic precedent established under the 19th Amendment.

In addition to Feinstein and Murkowski, the resolution is cosponsored by Senators Baldwin (D-Wis.), Collins (R-Maine), Shaheen (D-N.H.), Capito (R-W.Va.), Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Warren (D-Mass.), Ernst (R-Iowa), Fischer (R-Neb.), Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Hirono (D-Hawaii), Murray (D-Wash.), Cantwell (D-Wash.), Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Harris (D-Calif.), McSally (R-Ariz.), Stabenow (D-Mich.), Rosen (D-Nev.), Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Smith (D-Minn.), Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Hassan (D-N.H.), Duckworth (D-Ill.), Sinema (D-Ariz.).