Press Releases

Senator Feinstein Co-Chairs Newly Formed
Congressional Dairy Farmer Caucus

- Will foster Congressional cooperation to maintain a healthy national dairy industry -

Washington, DC – U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) today announced the formation of the first Congressional Dairy Farmer Caucus representing dairy producing regions across the country. Senator Feinstein joined with colleagues in the Senate and House of Representatives to form this new caucus focused on developing and promoting policy issues that are in the best interest of a healthy national dairy industry.

“I am proud to be part of the Congressional Dairy Farmer Caucus,” Senator Feinstein said.  “As a Senator from the nation’s number one dairy state, I know how important dairy issues are to California and to the nation.  I look forward to working with my colleagues on issues important to our dairy farmers as we work on the next Farm Bill.”

The milk produced by America’s 65,000 dairy farmers represents the second largest agricultural commodity industry in the United States by value. Milk accounted for about $27 billion of cash receipts for producers in 2005. Americans drink more than 6 billion gallons of milk per year, and another 10 billion gallons of milk are used to produce cheese. Yogurt, ice cream, butter and other dairy products use an additional 4.2 billion gallons of milk per year.

The caucus will be co-chaired by Representatives Devin Nunes (R-Calif.), Collin C. Peterson (D-Minn.), Rick Larsen (D-Wash.) and Randy Kuhl (R-N.Y.), and Senator Arlen Specter (R-Penn.).