Press Releases

Washington-Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and 23 of her Senate colleagues today expressed their support for the 13 states and District of Columbia that have adopted the strongest fuel economy standards in the nation, and they pledge to oppose any efforts by the Trump administration to undermine those standards.

Under the Clean Air Act, California was issued a waiver to enforce its own fuel economy emissions standards for new vehicles through 2025. As a result, 12 states – Massachusetts, Connecticut, Oregon, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Maine, Rhode Island, Maryland, Vermont, New Jersey, Washington, New York – and the District of Columbia are similarly allowed to adopt the strong California standards. The senators argue that higher fuel economy standards reduce our reliance on foreign oil, save consumers money at the pump, clean up the air, and protect our climate. Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Scott Pruitt has announced his intention to roll back the historic federal vehicle emissions standards for model years 2022-2025 and reexamine the California waiver.

“The federal vehicle emissions standards - negotiated in a historic agreement between states, the federal government and the auto industry - provide a critical line of defense against climate change, drive American innovation and competitiveness, and save consumers money at the gas pump,” the senators wrote. “We stand in solidarity with the states and D.C. that have adopted California’s standards, and will oppose any unprecedented attack on the California waiver or on its standards.”

A copy of the letter can be found HERE.

Also signing the letter are Senators Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Robert Menendez (D-N.J.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) and Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.).