Press Releases

Washington, DC – The Senate has unanimously approved a resolution offered by U.S. Senators Dianne Feinstein and Barbara Boxer (both D-Calif.), congratulating the Anaheim Ducks for winning their first-ever Stanley Cup championship in June.  This is the first time a California franchise has won the Stanley Cup.

“The players, coaches, management, and owners of the Stanley Cup Champion Anaheim Ducks have made their community and their fans proud,” Senator Feinstein said. “The Ducks have proven that hockey is alive and well in California.  The entire Ducks organization is to be commended and congratulated for their magnificent achievement.”

Senator Boxer said: “I am pleased to introduce this resolution today with Senator Dianne Feinstein to honor the Anaheim Ducks for bringing the Stanley Cup home to California.  Californians are extremely proud of the team for achieving their first championship, and we hope to see many more in the years ahead!”

The road to victory for the Ducks began with their defeat of the Minnesota Wild and Vancouver Canucks in the first two rounds of the playoffs.  The Ducks then won a grueling series against the Detroit Red Wings, and then progressed to the final round where they defeated the Ottawa Senators 4 games to 1. 

The following is the text of the resolution approved by the Senate:

Whereas, on June 6, 2007, the Anaheim Ducks (referred to in this preamble as the “Ducks”) won its first National Hockey League Stanley Cup Championship by defeating the Ottawa Senators by a score of 6-2 in Game 5 of the Stanley Cup finals;

Whereas the Ducks are the first National Hockey League franchise to bring the Stanley Cup to the State of California;

Whereas the Ducks won their first Pacific Division Championship and second Western Conference title in franchise history en route to winning the Stanley Cup;

Whereas, the Ottawa Senators displayed the qualities of a worthy opponent and played a hard-fought series against the Ducks;

Whereas the Ducks finished the regular season with the best record in the franchise’s thirteen-year history, with 48 wins, 20 losses, and 14 overtime losses, for a total of 110 points;

Whereas the Ducks players Francois Beauchemin, Ilya Bryzgalov, Sebastien Caron, Ryan Carter, Joe DiPenta, Ryan Getzlaf, Jean-Sebastien Giquere, Mark Hartigan, Kent Huskins, Chris Kunitz, Ric Jackman, Todd Marchant, Brad May, Andy McDonald, Drew Miller, Travis Moen, Joe Motzko, Scott Niedermayer, Rob Niedermayer, Sean O'Donnell, Samuel Pahlsson, George Parros, Dustin Penner, Corey Perry, Chris Pronger, Aaron Rome, Teemu Selanne, Ryan Shannon, and Shawn Thorton, are exemplars of the team’s motto of “Heart, Sacrifice, and Passion”;

Whereas team captain Scott Niedermayer earned the Conn Smythe Trophy as the most valuable player in the 2007 Stanley Cup Playoffs;

Whereas team and community leader Teemu Selanne won his first Stanley Cup in an illustrious fifteen year career that has brought pride and excitement to Orange County;

Whereas, under the direction of head coach Randy Carlyle and Assistant Coaches Newell Brown and Dave Farrish, the Ducks have reached the Western Conference Finals in two consecutive seasons and have earned a reputation among the league’s best;

Whereas, General Manager Brian Burke has exercised impeccable vision in building a strong, competitive, and exciting team in Anaheim;

Whereas, owners Henry and Susan Samueli have infused the Ducks with a winning spirit and have demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to hockey fans and the community;

Whereas, Ducks fans are enthusiastic and passionate for their team and the sport of hockey, and are integral to the success of the Ducks and the National Hockey League in the State of California; and

Whereas, the Anaheim Ducks have established a winning tradition in Orange County, are exemplars of the California’s championship spirit, and won the 2007 Stanley Cup Finals in a convincing fashion: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate–

(1) Congratulates the Anaheim Ducks for winning their first Stanley Cup title;

(2) Congratulates the Anaheim Ducks for winning the first Stanley Cup title in the history of the State of California; and

(3) Commends the players, coaches, managers, and ownership of the Anaheim Ducks for their heart, sacrifice, and passion.