Press Releases

Washington— Senate Judiciary Committee Ranking Member Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and 36 Democratic colleagues today introduced a bill to rescind President Trump’s discriminatory executive order barring immigrants from six Muslim-majority countries and suspending the U.S. refugee program.

Feinstein released the following statement:

“President Trump’s discriminatory executive order isn’t about strengthening our national security. It’s a transparent effort to fulfill his campaign promise to implement a ‘Muslim Ban’.

“These divisive policies alienate our allies in the Muslim world and fuel anti-American sentiment by sending a message that the United States is out to punish one religion.

“To say that someone who comes from a particular country or is a member of a particular faith is barred from this country is contrary to our founding principles and will do nothing to make us safer.”

In addition to Senator Feinstein, the bill is cosponsored by Senators Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Bernie Sanders (D-Vt.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-Nev.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Angus King (I-Maine), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) and Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.).