Press Releases

Washington — Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and Susan Collins (R-Maine) led all 23 of their female colleagues in sending a bipartisan letter to the Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee recommending a stamp be created to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the passage and ratification of the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States.

Representatives Lawrence (D-MI-14) and Lesko (R-AZ- 8) led a companion letter in the U.S. House of Representatives.

“As we approach the centennial of this landmark achievement, the creation of a commemorative stamp featuring a yellow rose and acknowledging the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment would honor the leadership and advocacy of the generations of brave and brilliant suffragists who fought tirelessly for the equal right to vote,” the senators wrote.

Senators wore a yellow rose, donated by the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission, on their lapel throughout the day. The yellow rose, a symbol of the women’s suffrage movement, evokes the historic debate by the Tennessee legislature prior to becoming the final state to ratify the 19th Amendment in 1920.  Those who supported women’s enfranchisement wore yellow roses, and antisuffragists wore red roses.

As the most senior Republican and Democratic female senators, Collins and Feinstein also led a bipartisan tribute today commemorating the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment by the U.S. Senate. Senators from both sides of the aisle will deliver remarks from the Senate floor to honor those who fought for women’s right to vote. Additionally, Collins and Feinstein joined their colleagues in introducing the Women's Suffrage Centennial Commemorative Coin Act, legislation that would authorize the Treasury Department to mint coins in honor of the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the Constitution.

Following passage by the U.S. House of Representatives, the Senate, and three-fourths of the states, the 19th Amendment was added to the Constitution on August 26, 1920. 

Click HERE to read the letter.