Press Releases

Washington, DC— The U.S. Senate Wednesday passed a resolution introduced by U.S. Senators Barbara Boxer and Dianne Feinstein (both D-CA) congratulating the Los Angeles Lakers on winning the 2009 National Basketball Association (NBA) Championship.

Senator Boxer said,  “This championship brings great pride to Los Angeles.  I congratulate the players, coaches, owner and general manager – and, of course – the fans.  I am honored to commend the Los Angeles Lakers on winning another NBA Championship and the Lakers’ Head Coach Phil Jackson on making history by winning his 10th championship.”

Senator Feinstein said, “The Lakers are, in fact, the dream team of basketball. All I can say is ‘right on,’ and congratulations for a season well won.”

The Lakers won the championship in five games, four games to one, over the Orlando Magic.  This is the 10th championship for the Los Angeles Lakers – four of which have been won since 1999.  This championship also marks Phil Jackson’s 10th championship as a head coach, the most of any head coach in NBA history.