Press Releases

Feinstein, Hutchison: Majority of U.S. Senate Sponsors Breast Cancer Research Stamp Renewal

Stamp has raised $73 million to fight second-leading cause of cancer deaths among American women

Washington—Legislation introduced by U.S. Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) and Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX) to extend the sale of the highly successful Breast Cancer Research Stamp has the support of a majority of the United States Senate, the senators announced today.

The sale of each 55-cent stamp designates 11 cents to breast cancer research.  Since its introduction in 1998, more than 915 million breast cancer research stamps have been sold—raising $73 million for breast cancer research. 

The legislation would renew the popular Breast Cancer Research Stamp for an additional four years.  Without Congressional action, the stamp will expire on December 31. 

“Breast cancer is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths among women in the Unites States.  Thanks to scientific breakthroughs, more and more women are surviving this deadly disease, but we need to maintain a commitment to cancer research,” said Senator Feinstein.  “I am pleased so many senators on both sides of the aisle have come together for such an important cause.  Americans across the country have shown their support to fight breast cancer by buying this stamp and raising $73 million to help save lives.

“For over a decade the breast cancer research stamp has raised, through voluntary contributions, money to support innovative research that has helped save lives,” said Senator Hutchison. “The stamp has been an important tool in ensuring that breast cancer patients become breast cancer survivors, and I am pleased to support its extension. I believe that with enough resources, the fight against breast cancer can be won.”

Click here to read more about the Breast Cancer Research Stamp.

Co-sponsors of the Breast Cancer Research Stamp Reauthorization, S. 384, include Senators: John Barrasso (R-WY), Max Baucus (D-MT), Mark Begich (D-AK),  Jeff Bingaman (D-NM), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Scott Brown (R-MA), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Richard Burr (R-NC), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Thad Cochran (R-MS), Kent Conrad (D-ND), Chris Coons (D-DE), John Cornyn (R-TX), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Michael Enzi (R-WY), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Charles Grassley (R-IA), Kay Hagan (D-NC), Tom Harkin (D-IA), Orrin Hatch (R-UT), John Hoeven (R-ND), James Inhofe (R-OK), Daniel Inouye (D-HI), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Tim Johnson (D-SD), John Kerry (D-MA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Joseph Lieberman (I-CT), Richard Lugar (R-IN), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Patty Murray (D-WA), Ben Nelson (D-NE), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Rob Portman (R-OH), Jim Risch (R-ID), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Bernard Sanders (I-VT), Charles Schumer (D-NY), Olympia Snowe (R-ME), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Jon Tester (D-MT), Tom Udall (D-NM), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI).