Press Releases

Washington, DC – Along with 29 co-signers, U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) today sent a letter to the White House warning the President not to take offensive military action against Iran without the express consent of Congress.

The Senators also expressed concern that the administration’s increasingly provocative rhetoric has undermined diplomatic efforts with Iran.

Following is the text of the letter from the 30 Senators:

November 1, 2007

President George W. Bush
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Bush:

We are writing to express serious concerns with the provocative statements and actions stemming from your administration with respect to possible U.S. military action in Iran.  These comments are counterproductive and undermine efforts to resolve tensions with Iran through diplomacy. 

We wish to emphasize that no congressional authority exists for unilateral military action against Iran.  This includes the Senate vote on September 26, 2007 on an amendment to the FY 2008 National Defense Authorization Act.  This amendment, expressing the sense of the Senate on Iran, and the recent designation of the Quds Force of the Iranian Revolutionary Guard as a Specially Designated Global Terrorist, should in no way be interpreted as a predicate for the use of military force in Iran. 

We stand ready to work with your administration to address the challenges presented by Iran in a manner that safeguards our security interests and promotes a regional diplomatic solution, but we wish to emphasize that offensive military action should not be taken against Iran without the express consent of Congress.


Senator Daniel Akaka
Senator Max Baucus
Senator Barbara Boxer
Senator Sherrod Brown
Senator Robert Byrd
Senator Maria Cantwell
Senator Tom Carper
Senator Bob Casey
Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton
Senator Christopher Dodd
Senator Byron Dorgan
Senator Dick Durbin
Senator Dianne Feinstein
Senator Tom Harkin
Senator Tim Johnson
Senator John Kerry
Senator Amy Klobuchar
Senator Herb Kohl
Senator Patrick Leahy
Senator Claire McCaskill
Senator Barbara Mikulski
Senator Patty Murray
Senator Jack Reed
Senator Jay Rockefeller
Senator Bernie Sanders
Senator Debbie Stabenow
Senator Jon Tester
Senator Jim Webb
Senator Sheldon Whitehouse
Senator Ron Wyden